Entree | Aperitif | Cafe Montparnasse | Table Etiquette | Wine List |
Montmartre | Habitues | Advertisement | Reservations | House Wine
Louveciennes | Maitre D' | Paris |

Review of Piano- First music

November 23, 2003 11:10 a.m.

"it had been in the house for years.....my father bought it ages ago and built it's little twin, the harpsicord..."

I immeadiately flashed back to my own childhood home and the deep red wood of the piano that sat tuneless in the hall. I wonder at what thoughts infiltrated my four year old mind, only to be drawn further into Anna's. I saw her childish hands, banging on that harpsicord " an old friend". I could hear it's grating tinny sound and the involuntary flinches of her grandparents as they praised her.

I enjoyed the description of the piano, the "black behemoth". The image of a demonless music brought smiles to my face, the wildly incoherant fears of children dreaming of demons leaping from piano strings, I want a piano that plays like that!

"a piano is a canvas, a surface upon which shadows might dance"

[That is a painting I'd wish to hang in my soul.]

She then turned to describe her relationship with this flawed and first love. Acknowledging the mismatch and incomprehension, knowing that it would never be her wildest passion, but will forever be the first love.

"I am still a distorted reflection of the dark girl-child banging madly on the piano, fumbling towards melodies. A flawed music, the first music, the first love."

And I am struck by how vividly my eyes see these words, written delicately with wide loops and flowing like a melody inscribed upon the soft lines of a manuscript.

~ Vita

_________________________

Avant | | Apres
0 comments


Resurrection
HELLO?!
The Sea Nymph
In Your Face
The Dream that Never was....(re-writing the ancient dreams ~Pt1)


Artemis Designs